October: National Bullying Prevention Month and More!

October is shaping up to be a pretty busy month and it’s only just begun!

First of all, it’s National Bully Prevention Month.

I’m planning on spotlighting books and other resources that can help parents and teachers address this issue.

Second, I’ve signed up for 31 in 31, the brainchild of writer/artist Kathy Ellen Davis.  Kathy is encouraging everyone to read a picture book every day in October.

Since this is what I would like to do 365 days a year, I decided to hop aboard.  Usually, for Susanna Hill’s Perfect Picture Book Friday, I review the older classics.  For this challenge, I’m going to pursue the best new picture books of 2011 and 2012.  On Fridays, for Perfect Picture Book Friday, I’ll review the best of the seven (as long as it hasn’t appeared on Susanna’s resource list yet) that I’ve read during the week…and give a list of the others.

Third, thanks to children’s author (Annie’s Special Day), fellow 12x12er and PPBF participant Clar Bowman-Jahn (thank you so much, Clar!), I was reminded of the Muse Online Writer’s Conference in time to register last night!

I’m excited to take part in this FREE writer’s conference that is being held October 8-14.  I’ll try to participate as much as possible…there are workshops and seminars and even a possible opportunity to have your work critiqued.

Fourth, Fire Prevention Week is October 7-14.

Some of you might remember the interview during Susanna Hill’s self-publishing mini-series with Patrick Milne, author of The Adventures of Lucy Snigglefritz.  I’ll be spotlighting and reviewing that book during Fire Prevention Week…if you have the book, you’ll know why!

Fifth, as a participant in Julie Hedlund’s 12×12 in 2012, I’m checking in with my completed September picture book draft.

Over 400 people signed up for Julie’s challenge to try to write a picture book draft each month this year.  Personally, I know that I would NOT have nine picture books drafts sitting on my desk (dining room table) if not for Julie and the inspiration I draw from the other members of this amazing kidlit community.  I pitched two of the stories (The Tomato Turner and Confessions of the Tomato Turner) on Susanna’s ‘Would You Read It Wednesday’ post…and I’m busy working on my October picture book draft, the third in this series of books about how a love for tomatoes helped my son learn some important lessons.

Sixth, we have twelve lucky winners in the Show-Me-How School Initiative!

I’ll be notifying each of the twelve people as soon as possible.

  1. Erik: L R Appleman Elementary School, Pennsylvania
  2. Tracy C: A family who home schools
  3. Stacy J: Banning Lewis Ranch Academy, Colorado
  4. Milka P: Her son’s preschool, California
  5. Jennifer B: Mt. Olive Early Childhood Education Center, Aurora, CO
  6. Barbara P: Lyle Creek Elementary School, Conover, NC
  7. Laura B: Montgomery City Elementary, Montgomery City, MO
  8. Kimberley M: Hollis Elementary, Hollis, Maine
  9. Lesley F: Friends for Mental Health, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

10. Monica D: McKay School, Fitchberg, MA

11. Lisa Winkler: Montessori Netivot, Edison, New Jersey

12. Barbara L: Millstream Elementary, Victoria, BC, Canada

Last, but certainly not least, October means HALLOWEEN!

Do you celebrate Halloween?

Do you buy ready-made costumes or make your own?

Do you go out trick-or-treating with your kids or do you opt for a family or community-run party?

I want to ask all of my readers to do a big favor for me…in return for which I am offering a Halloween prize package…please visit and ‘like’ the new FB page for Show Me How and leave a comment on my wall: http://www.facebook.com/showmehowbuildyourchildsselfesteem

Leave a comment on this post, letting me know you did it…or that you are already a fan of Show Me How…and I will enter your name in a drawing for the prize…it includes a box of cupcake liners and Halloween decorated toothpicks, a fun Halloween board book that uses Cheerios for interactive play…and more!  I’ll announce the winner on October 15…so that I can mail out the package in plenty of time for Halloween!

25 thoughts on “October: National Bullying Prevention Month and More!

  1. WOW Vivian!!
    You sure are busy!
    Thanks for getting on board with reading the Picture books!
    I’m excited to see which ones you will pick 🙂

    Like

  2. So many good things to comment on, I hardly know where to start! I’ll pick just a couple so that my comment doesn’t go on for days. I’m so glad you’re in 31×31 as well — it’s going to be fun reading so many picture books in a month. And good for you that you’re 9 for 9 in 12×12. Now, how many more numbers can I fit into this paragraph? 😉

    I’ve already “liked” your FB page, and I urge everyone else to. Since I don’t bake, you can leave my name out of the draw for the prize you’ve mentioned, though. It should go to someone who can fully enjoy it. Great giveaway — it’s going to be fun for whoever wins it!

    Here’s to a great October!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Beth! I saw your comment on Kathy’s 31 x 31…so this is yet another challenge we are participating in together. 🙂 Thanks for liking the page…I should have set the FB page up two years ago when the book came out…but they say – better late than never. 🙂
      Thank you for your kind comments and encouragement. It’s definitely going to be a busy October!

      Like

  3. Vivian, where do you find the time to do all that you do. I’m tired out just reading your list. You go, girl. And wow, that’s twice I’ve won something. First, I won a delightful package from Susanna Hill just for completing her fabulous Summer, Short & Sweet Challenge and now I’ve won your book which I can’t wait to give to the home school mom.
    Wow! What can I say, but thank you! 🙂

    Like

    • You are so very welcome, Tracy! I find the time by not sleeping. 🙂 Unfortunately, I’m like the song, “I’m Just a Girl Who Can’t Say No!” 🙂 These amazing opportunities come along and I want to participate…but it does get overwhelming at times. But fun!
      Email me at vivian@positiveparentalparticipation.com and send me your address so I can send a copy of Show Me How to you so you can pass it along to the homeschool family. 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks, Lisa…I know everyone else is super busy as well!  I do have a couple of days of vacation coming next week…hope I will take the opportunity to sleep in and relax…but I’ll probably just try to get more done. 🙂 By the way, Lisa…CONGRATULATIONS AGAIN ON THE BOOK!!!!  I had no idea you were working on one…it sounds like something every woman (and many men would want to/need to read!  Tangerine Tango is a GREAT title!!!   

      Like

    • Thanks so much, Pat…I thought I had already responded to your comment…but now I don’t see it. 😦 I definitely like to be busy…and October seems to be providing quite a few great topics to focus on. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for the book donation! I’m sure the school will put it to good use. It’s funny because my 6-year old is celebrating anti-bullying month and my 4-year old is doing Fire Safety this week. Lots of good stuff!

    I’d love to try to make their costumes and I did when the kids were little but now they want fancy costumes (Batman, anyone) and only go for store bought. But I do have a budget they have to stick to so they can’t ask for a $50 costume either. It’s funny how my kids have a love hate relationship with Halloween. They love the costumes and trick or treating, but they absolutely hate all the scary decorations.

    Like

    • I’m so happy to share the book with schools, Milka!   And I totally understand about the Halloween…most young kids HATE the scary parts (I do too) and most LOVE the costumes and dress-up aspect. 🙂  I also loved to make my kids costumes…but as they got older, I don’t remember them wanting store bought costumes…I think they wanted to make their own. 🙂  I’ve seen some of the princess/Snow White type costumes in the stores…I would have loved one of those myself. 🙂  

      Like

    • Hi Nancy…thank you…and I will, if I can organize my time. 🙂  I think I just have too many things going on…but they are all wonderful things, so it is incredibly hard to make choices and ‘delete’ some of them. 🙂   

      Like

  5. Great idea and on an important subject…
    No, I don’t celebrate Halloween anymore… the kids are older now. Maybe when I become a granny, the joy of it all might surface. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.