Holiday Confessions of a Grateful Blogger

 

I love to write.

I love to talk.

Ergo, I love to blog!

My blogging journey began a little over a year ago when my book, Show Me How! Build Your Child’s Self-Esteem Through Reading, Crafting and Cooking, was published.

The blog began as an extension of the book so that I could connect with parents:

  • To share my passion for picture books and the messages they contain.
  • To provide information about using positive parental participation to build self-esteem and strengthen the parent-child connection.
  •  To offer crafting and cooking activities along with picture book summaries and reviews to help parents develop better literacy skills in young children.

Accomplishing the above goals are very important to me, but I must confess that my blogging journey has been an educational, enjoyable and uplifting experience for me as well.

I’ve connected with over a thousand wonderful people…through blogging and Twitter and Facebook.  The only downside…with all of the amazing posts, stories and articles available to read and comment on, I barely have time to write my own blog and work on my next book project!

Here are the guest author posts and reviews I did of several new and exciting children’s books.

Rebecca Dunning: Real Life Princess

Olena Burda-Lasen: The Vitamin Band

Donalisa Helsley: The Day No One Played Together: A Story About Compromise

Martha Rodriguez: A Reel Cool Summer

Anthony Majewski: Read With Max

Here are just a few of the blogs I follow that inspire, educate and entertain.

Mirth and Motivation

Spirit Lights the Way

Piglet in Portugal

Stacey S. Jensen: Writing My Way Through Life

Plate Spinning 101

Because I’m the Mommy

The Mom Writes

Here are some of the sites I post on.

voiceBoks: The Voice of Motherhood

Social Moms

Bloggy Moms

Mom Bloggers Club

She Writes

WikiMommy

Pikes Peak Parent

Freshlink

Goodreads

Here are a bunch of the 5-star reviews and recommendations of Show Me How that were done this year.

Home Grown Families: A Natural Living Blog

My Little Me

Virtuous Foundations

Dallas Chapter of Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF)

Chic Galleria Magazine

A Reel Cool Summer

The Children’s Book Review

Makobi Scribe

The Mom Writes

Jamie’s Precious Peas

The Mama Loves Her Bargains

Kidlutions Preferred Product Awards

Book Dads

MomsReview4You

Frugal Military Wife

I’m so very grateful to all of the bloggers and tweeters I’ve connected with this past year.  I confess, though, that with blogging, book writing, working, and taking care of home and hearth, I am constantly juggling the need for sleep with the desire to do everything else.  So, when the other day, my husband asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I replied that I had EVERYTHING and needed NOTHING, I must confess that I wasn’t being totally honest.

If someone invents a time machine that can enable me to fit thirty-six hours of activity into a twenty-four hour day…please contact me immediately at vivian@positiveparentalparticipation.com!

Happy Holidays to all who have read my posts, followed me on Twitter, recommended and/or bought my book and supported and encouraged me on this amazing journey during 2011.

8 thoughts on “Holiday Confessions of a Grateful Blogger

    • And I wish the same for you, Nancy! I always felt blessed and fortunate with my life…and blogging has opened up a whole new world of people whom I’ve never met…but feel really close to in spirit and thought. 🙂

      Like

  1. Happy Holidays to you, Vivian! You are a plate spinner through and through and I feel so very blessed to have connected with you. You’re writing has inspired me to slow down, if even just for a little bit, to connect with my kids and take in the world around me. I look forward to reading your posts throughout the new year. All the best to you in 2012!

    Like

    • Thank you for the lovely comment, Barb.
      What a beautiful way to start my morning…you’ve made my day!
      My life is better because I read your posts…and those of the other talented bloggers I follow. I’m thrilled that you are getting value from mine. 🙂
      May your New Year be filled with good health and much joy and success!

      Like

  2. Thank you for including my blog on your list… You should include yours too as you’ve inspired and motivated many of us to be better parents. Happy Holidays! Merry Christmas! and blessings for a Happy New Year! 🙂
    Eliz

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.