Make-A-Meal Mondays: Child-Friendly Banana-Raisin Bran Muffins

Raisins.

Image via Wikipedia

The theme for my posts this week is companions.

The dictionary defines companion as one that accompanies another comrade or associate, a friend who is frequently in the company of another.

When I think about ingredients that are happy companions of each other, this simple, child-friendly recipe for BANANA BRAN MUFFINS comes to mind.

After all, how can something with applesauce, bananas, cinnamon and raisins taste badly…and when you add oat bran and whole wheat flour, you get a muffin that packs an enormous nutrition punch!!!!

CHILD-FRIENDLY BANANA-RAISIN BRAN MUFFINS

These highly nutritious muffins make a wonderful snack…or team them with a vegetable salad or soup for a terrific lunch!!

You will need: 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1½ tsp baking powder, ¼ tsp baking soda, ½ tsp cinnamon, 1 cup oat bran, 3 Tbs milk, 1 egg, ½ cup canola oil, 1 cup mashed banana, ½ cup raisins, 1 cup applesauce, 1 tsp honey, a large bowl and a lightly greased 12-cup muffin tin.

1.     In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients and mix well.

2.     Add milk, egg, applesauce and oil and blend together.

3.     Mix in raisins and mashed banana.

4.     Spoon batter into muffin cups and bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes.

5.     Cool well before serving.  Makes 12 regular size muffins.

This recipe is just one of 100 easy child-friendly healthful cooking activities you will find in SHOW ME HOW! BUILD YOUR CHILD’S SELF-ESTEEM THROUGH READING, CRAFTING AND COOKING.  This book is a wonderful resource and shortcut for busy parents and teachers who want to provide educational fun-filled activities for preschoolers.  Visit my website to take advantage of the 50%-off-the-cover-price sale, going on until April 9th!  You can also enter to win a great colection of craft supplies for your preschoolers by purchasing a copy or by just filling in the contact form on the website or leaving me a comment here on why you would like to win the craft supplies.  Make sure you leave your email so I can notify you if you are the winner.  Winner will be announced April 10th.

Please stop by tomorrow for Quotable Timeless Tuesdays for some great quotations on Companionship.

5 thoughts on “Make-A-Meal Mondays: Child-Friendly Banana-Raisin Bran Muffins

  1. I haven’t had a muffin in ages… Now I am hungry for one. I love that you found the perfect picture of golden raisins on Wiki! Great and easy recipe too. Thank you Viv! 🙂
    BTW, I have given you a Versatile Blogger award. Stop by to collect it! 🙂
    Elizabeth

    Like

    • Hope you try them…they are pretty yummy!
      And, you are amazing…I read your latest post and saw the award….I know I put a lot of work into writing my posts…but, to be honest, when I compare my blog to yours…which of course I shouldn’t…there is NO comparison. So I thank you from the bottom of my heart and go forward with new confidence…and lots of smiles. 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Banana Nutella Muffins Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.